Skip to content

VEVOR 8 × 13 in mini, 1/3 HP review

The small VEVOR: a hundred and fifty rpm at the bottom like its big sibling, on a third of the power.

The end of it An honest small lathe with two consistent power figures, a named accessory list and no spindle thread.

Every figure below names its source. Each one is a manufacturer specification read off the listing itself. The judgments are ours.

A third of a horsepower, two hundred and fifty watts

The same number twice, and correct: a third of 745.7 is 248.6.

Both VEVOR lathes on this shelf publish a consistent pair. Three listings elsewhere in this catalog do not.

What 250 watts rules out is depth of cut, not diameter. It will turn a 200 mm (7.87 in) blank at low speed; it will not take a heavy roughing bite in hardwood without slowing.

So the cuts are lighter and there are more of them, which for a spindle or a small box is no hardship at all.

Metal, and not cast iron

The listing says a durable metal frame. The same maker’s 14 inch lathe, one page away on this shelf, says cast iron.

On a lathe the distinction matters more than almost anywhere. Cast iron absorbs vibration because it is massive and internally damped; folded or welded steel plate of the same strength rings.

At 200 millimeters of swing the loads may be small enough that it does not matter. The choice of words is still what to notice, because the same maker uses the other phrase next door.

Eight by thirteen is a class

Two hundred and three by three hundred and thirty millimeters: a chair spindle, a tool handle, a pen blank, a small box.

The published Proxxon DB 250 on this shelf is a micro lathe and its page says so — model-making capacity only. The VEVOR 96 W mini here is smaller again, at 70 by 160.

Three classes, and this is the middle one. Its listing does not overstate which.

The thread nobody publishes

A lathe is chosen on two dimensions and one commitment.

The dimensions are the swing over the bed and the distance between centers. The commitment is the spindle thread, because every chuck, faceplate and screw center bought afterwards has to match it — and the common threads are 1 in by 8 TPI, M33 by 3.5 and 3/4 in by 16, which are not interchangeable in any direction.

Across all five American listings on this shelf, not one publishes it. The published Einhell page here carries the same absence in its cons, and the shelf’s own intro names it as the reason to care.

Availability

Read on the day this page was built: $197 at the American Amazon shop.

Read from Keepa on the day this page was last revised; stock and price both move without notice.

Prices quoted in this text were read on 2026-10-07. The live price is at the top of the page.

The good side, and the catch

Strengths

  • Publishes horsepower and watts, and the two agree
  • A hundred and fifty rpm at the bottom, the same as the maker's larger lathe
  • Names what is in the box: tool rest, wrenches, feet
  • The least expensive full-size-bed lathe on this shelf

Compromises

  • A metal frame, not stated cast iron, where the larger VEVOR here is
  • No spindle thread, so no chuck can be ordered with it
  • A third of a horsepower will stall in a deep roughing cut
  • Eight inches of swing rules out bowls of any size

Specifications

Swing over bed8 in — 203 mm
Between centers13 in — 330 mm
Motor1/3 HP / 250 W, both published · A third of a horsepower is 249 W, so the two figures agree
Speed range150 to 3,200 rpm, variable
Spindle threadNot published by the maker.
ProtectionA circuit board with overcurrent protection, stated
ConstructionA metal frame, stated to reduce vibration · Not stated to be cast iron, where the maker's larger lathe is
SuppliedA tool rest, wrenches and feet, named in the title
Stated userBeginners and hobbyists, for small and detailed projects
Part numberNot published by the maker. · The listing title is used as the reference
Amazon referenceB0H9Z8VH1S
EAN0199912979716

What comes up most often

What does a third of a horsepower rule out?

Depth of cut, not diameter. Two hundred and fifty watts at the spindle will turn a 200 mm (7.87 in) blank at low speed; what it will not do is take a heavy roughing cut on one, because a deep bite in hardwood needs torque and this motor will slow and stall. The practical consequence is more passes, taken lighter — which for spindle work and small boxes is no hardship. For a bowl it is, and the eight-inch swing rules those out anyway. The two figures are consistent, which is the point: the machine is honest about its size.

Metal frame, or cast iron?

The listing says a durable metal frame and does not say cast iron, where the same maker's 14-inch lathe on this shelf says cast iron outright. The distinction matters on a lathe more than almost anywhere: cast iron absorbs vibration because it is massive and internally damped, where folded or welded steel plate of the same strength rings. On a 200 mm (7.87 in) machine the loads are small enough that it may not matter. The listing's choice of words is still the thing to notice, because the same maker uses the other phrase one page away.

Is this a micro lathe or a small lathe?

A small lathe. Eight by thirteen inches is 203 by 330 millimeters, which takes a chair spindle, a tool handle, a pen blank or a small box — real work at a small scale. The published Proxxon DB 250 on the European half of this shelf is a micro lathe for model parts, and its page says so plainly: model-making capacity only. The VEVOR 96 W mini on this shelf is smaller again at 70 by 160 mm (6.30 in). These are three different classes, and this is the middle one.

Who buys this one, among woodworking machines

Pens, handles, small boxes and spindle practice, on the smallest sensible budget

Sources

Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for woodworking machines and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.

How we assess these woodworking machines